8.—Members of the Senate, by Province, as at Apr. 30, 19641—concluded

Province and Name of Senator	P.O. Address	Province and Name of Senator	P.O. Address
Quebec—concluded Molson, Hartland de Montarville. Power, Charles Gavan. Pouliot, Jean-François. Lefrançois, J. Eugène. Méthot, Léon. Monette, Gustave. Quart, Josie Alice Dinan. Beaubien, Louis Philippe. Flynn, Jacques. Bourget, Maurice. Gélinas, Louis P. Bourque, Romuald. Denis, Azellus.	Montreal St. Pacôme Rivière du Loup Montreal Trois Rivières Montreal Quebec Montreal Quebec Lévis Montreal Outremont Montreal	Ontario—concluded Walker, David James. Belisle, Rréal. Lang, Daniel Aiken. Manitoba— (6 Senators) Beauwien, Arthur L. Crerar, Thomas Alexander. Thorvaldson, Gunnar S. Irvine, Olive Lillian. Haig, J. Campbell. Yuzyk, Paul. Saskatchewan— (6 Senators)	Winnipeg Winnipeg Winnipeg Winnipeg Winnipeg
Ontario— (23 Senators—1 vacancy) LAMBERT, NORMAN P HAYDEN, SALTER ADRIAN. PATERSON, NORMAN MCLEOD DAVIES. WILLIAM RUPERT.	Ottawa Toronto Fort William Toronto	HORNER, RAIPH BYRON ASELTINE, WALTER M WOOD, THOMAS H. BOUCHER, WILLIAM ALBERT. PEARSON, ARTHUR M. HNATYSHYN, JOHN.	Blaine Lake Rosetown Regina Prince Albert Lumsden Saskatoon
TAYLOR, WILLIAM HORACE. Bre BISHOP, CHARLES L. Ott ROBBUCK, ARTHUR WENTWORTH TOF WOODROW, ALLAN L. TOF MACDONALD, WILLIAM ROSS. Bre CONNOLLY, JOHN J. Ott CROLL, DAVID A. TOF LEONARD, THOMAS D'ARCY TOF WHITE, GEORGE STANLEY. Ma. SULLIVAN, JOSEPH A. TOF CHOQUETTE, LIONEL. Ott WILLIS, HARRY A. TOF MCCUTCHEON, M. WALLACE. TOF O'LEARY, M. GRATTAN. Ott GROSART, ALLISTER. OTT	Brantford Ottawa Toronto Toronto Brantford Ottawa Toronto Toronto Madoe Toronto Ottawa Toronto Ottawa Toronto Ottawa Coronto Ottawa Kenora	Alberta— (6 Senators) Blais, Aristide. Gershaw, Fred William. Stambaugh, J. Wesley. Cameron, Donald. Gladstone, James. Buchanan, John Alexander. British Columbia— (5 Senators—1 vacancy) Farris, John Wallace de B. McKeen, Stanley Stewart. Reid, Thomas. Hodges, Nancy. Smith, Sydney John.	Edmonton Medicine Hat Bruce Edmonton Cardston Edmonton Vancouver Vancouver New Westminster Victoria Kamloops

¹ Any changes occurring between Apr. 30, 1964 and the date of going to press will be carried in an Appendix to this volume.

The House of Commons.—The British North America Act, 1867 provided that in respect of representation in the House of Commons the Province of Quebec should have the fixed number of sixty-five members and that there should be assigned to each of the other provinces such a number of members as would bear the same proportion to the number of its population as the number sixty-five bears to the number of the population of Quebec. This Act also provided that on the completion of a census in 1871 and of each subsequent decennial census the representation of the several provinces should be readjusted provided the proportionate representation of the provinces as prescribed by the Act were not thereby disturbed.

In the session of 1946 the House of Commons adopted a resolution stating that the effect of the provisions of the British North America Act relating to representation had not been satisfactory in that proportionate representation of the provinces according to population had not been maintained and that a more equitable apportionment of members to the various provinces could be effected if readjustments were made on the basis of the population of all the provinces taken as a whole. The Act was amended accordingly in 1946 to provide a new rule to regulate representation in the House of Commons. Generally speaking, representation was fixed as follows:—

The membership assigned to each province shall be computed by dividing the total population of the provinces by two hundred and fifty-four and by dividing the population of each province by the quotient so obtained.

This rule, employed in the redistribution of representation made in 1947, was effective in the General Election of 1949.